## **ICOMON REPORT 2010 for INC**

Hortensia von Roten sent the following report:

The XVII Annual Meeting of the International Committee of Money and Banking Museums (ICOMON) was held from 8th to 10th November 2010 in Shanghai / China, as part of the XXII Conference of the International Council of Museums (ICOM). The ICOM conference unites museum specialists from all over the world and is held every three years. In 2010 the conference was held from 7th to 10th November 2010 in Shanghai. The conference was located at the Expo Centre of the World Exhibition 2010 that had just closed its doors. Approximately 3300 museum specialists attended the conference to explore the theme "Museum for Social Harmony".

For the ICOMON meeting the more specific theme "Money Museum and its Cultural Contribution" was chosen. 105 numismatists and museum specialists from 25 countries attended. It was a special pleasure to greet among the participants the president of the International Numismatic Council (INC) Carmen Arnold Biucchi and Mr. Wren, General Director of the People's Bank of China. 22 papers were given, half of them by Chinese numismatists or economic historians. Thanks to excellent simultaneous translation into English, non-Chinese participants had no difficulty in following what was said. The programme and abstracts of the papers will be put on the ICOMON website and a selected range of papers will be published *in extenso* in the ICOMON e-Proceedings on the ICOMON website.

The ICOMON meeting 2010 in Shanghai was organized by Prof. Huang Xiquan, ICOMON committee member 2004–2010 and scientific director at the China Numismatic Museum, Beijing. We would like to express our deepest thanks to Prof Huang Xiquan and his colleagues for the perfect organization and for the overwhelming welcome ICOMON was given during the visit to the Shanghai Banking Museum, to the Shanghai Mint Museum and to the Shanghai Banknote Printing Corporation Exhibition Hall as well as at the reception by the Shanghai Branch of ICBC and at the Banquet given by the China Banknote Printing and Minting Corporation.

The ICOM meeting closed with the ICOMON General Assembly 2010. Major point on the agenda were the elections of the ICOMON Board 2010–2013. Various committee members, namely Angela Aaraújo Velez (Banco de la Repubblica, Santafé de Bogota), Reiner Cunz

(Niedersächsisches Landesmuseum, Hannover), Hortensia von Roten (Swiss National Museum, Zurich), Armine Wehdorn (Österreichische Nationalbank, Wien), Ian Wiséhn (Royal Coin Cabinet, Stockholm) and Huang Xiquan (China Numismatic Museum, Beijing) have come to the end of their term on the committee. Christel Schollaardt from the Geldmuseum in Utrecht was elected new ICOMON Chair.

The new ICOMON Board 2010–2013 is made up of the following members:

President: Christel Schollaardt (Geldmuseum, Utrecht)

Vice-President: Walter Bloom (Maritime Museum, Freemantle/AUS)

Secretary: Eleni Zapiti (Bank of Cyprus Cultural Foundation, Nicosia /Cyprus)

Treasurer: Roswitha Denk (Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna)

Representatives for

National Museums: Outi Jaarvinen (National Museum, Helsinki)

Bank Museums: Jenni Adams (Bank of England, London)

Mint Museums: Christel Schollaardt (Geldmuseum, Utrecht)

Private Museums: Marie-Alix Roesle (Money Museum, Zürich)

Africa: Katie Eagleton (The British Museum, London)

Asia West. Parissa Andami (Money Museum, Teheran)

Asia East: Zhou Weirong (China Numismatic Museum. Beijing)

Latin America: Telma Soares Ceolin (Museo de Valores, Banco Central de Brazil)

Australia & Oceania: Walter Bloom (Maritime Museum, Freemantle/AUS)

Representation of Regional Museums, University Museums and North America are vacant.

The next ICOMON meeting 2011 will be held in Nicosia, Cyprus from 10th to 13th October 2011. The theme will be "Money Museums Communicating with the Public". The meeting will be hosted by the Bank of Cyprus Cultural Foundation and organized by Eleni Zapiti, curator of the Money Museum of the Bank of Cyprus Cultural Foundation. Call for papers have been sent out in January. Deadline for submitting papers is the 30th April 2011. The detailed programme will be set up and available by June 2011 on the information page of the website of the Bank of Cyprus Cultural Foundation (<a href="www.boccf.org">www.boccf.org</a>). For further information please contact Eleni Zapiti (<a href="mailto:eleni.z@boccf.org">eleni.z@boccf.org</a>).